Final call for world’s best buildings to enter WAF Awards 2011 and compete on global stage


Time is running out to enter the World Architecture Festival Awards 2011.Architects have just three days left until 30th June to enter projects into the world’s biggest, live and interactive global awards programme that sees renowned architectural practices and smaller firms (unknown outside their own country) compete as equals on an international stage.

The judges, some of who include Willl Alsop, from Alsop Architects, UK,Professor Kongjian Yu, Principal of Turenscape, Beijing, Jo Noero, Principal of Noero Wolff Architects, Cape Town,  Kim Nielsen, Principal at BIG, Denmark, and former WAF winner, Yvonne Farrell, from Grafton Architects, Ireland, are eager to see entries from all over the world entered into three main sections: Completed Buildings, Structural Design, and Future Projects (for designs in progress). Each section includes up to 16 categories.  More than 500 entries were received last year from more than 55 different countries.

Shortlisted entrants will head to World Architecture Festival, which takes place in Barcelona from 2nd to 4th November 2011 to present their projects live to international judging panels and festival delegates. A super-jury headed by Michael Sorkin, principal of Michael Sorkin Studio, New York, will cast their vote on the final day of the festival to announce the World Building of the Year 2011.

Enter the WAF Awards 2011 at:  For each entry submitted, a second project can be submitted in any category at no extra cost – two projects can be entered for the price of one.

World Architecture Festival is a key event in the global architectural calendar and has attracted more than 5,000 delegates from around the world since 2008. Renowned as one of the world’s greatest cities for architecture, Barcelona will again play host to WAF between 2nd to 4th November 2011. The festival features a packed programme of presentations, seminars, exhibitions, and keynote addresses from international participants, and a student competition.

Paul Finch, WAF Programme Director said: “The World Architecture Festival Awards celebrate the achievements of a huge variety of architectural practices. We are once again looking forward to seeing some great projects and presenting prizes that are internationally recognised by architects and clients alike.”

Previous winners include ‘World Building of the Year 2008’ – Luigi Bocconi University, Milan, designed by Irish practice Grafton Architects and ‘World Building of the Year 2009’ – Mapungubwe Interpretation Centre in South Africa, designed by Peter Rich Architects of Johannesburg and ‘World Building of the Year 2010’ winner, MAXXI, National Museum of XXI Century Arts, Italy, designed by Zaha Hadid Architects.

Images by Esteban Suarez; Designed by Bunker Arquitectura. Project from WAF 2011 entries; Sunset Chapel, Mexico

Entries are now being invited in the following categories:

Completed buildings

Civic and community           Housing                            Learning

Culture                             Landscape                        New and old

Display                              Office                               Production

Health                              Shopping                          Sport

Holiday                              Transport                         House

Future projects                   Structural Design

Masterplanning                  Spans

Landscape                        Towers

Infrastructure                    Metal      

Competition entries            Concrete

Residential                        Timber

Commercial                       Glass

Cultural                             Tensile                        

Educational                       Masonry

Experimental projects       Composites/Synthetics


Scroll al inicio